Print Friendly and PDF

GME Committee (GMEC)

The Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) is responsible for the oversight of the GME programs. The Committee meets monthly.

  • Members: GMEC members are comprised of voting members (Training Program Directors, Teaching Faculty, GME Manager, Institutional Administrative Director of Risk & Quality, Safety & Inovation, & peer-selected Residents and Fellows Representatives), non-voting Administrators (Ex-Officio member (CMO), Legal Counsel, VP for Ethics and Compliance, and Research Institute Director) and non-voting guests (Program Coordinators).
  • Residents and Fellows Representatives: Include the chief residents, and GMEC Housestaff Reps are elected by their peers and have voting rights
    • All Voting members are required to attend 50% of the meetings annually
    • Each co-represenative pair occupy one slot.
    • A quorum is achieved when there is 18 attendees of the voting members (50% of voting members seats +1)
Co-Representative Co-Representative
Rani Gereige, MD, MPH

Director of Medical Education
Designated Institutional Official (DIO)
Vivian Hernandez-Trujillo, MD
Vice Chair

Director, Div. of Allergy-Immunology
Beatriz Cunill, MD
Director, Pediatric Core Program
Maria Behnam-Terneus, DO
Associate Prog Director, Pediatric Core Program
Mark Gabay, DO
Assoc Pediatric Prog Director and Osteopathic Prog Director
Bala Totapally, MD
Director, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Program
Lorena Siqueira, MD
Director, Adolescent Medicine Program
Jason Katz, MD
Director, Pediatric Cardiology Program
Vincenzo Maniaci, MD
Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Program
Michael Duchowny, MD
Director, Clinical Neurophysiology Program
Rafael Gosalbez, MD
Director, Pediatric Urology Program
Miguel Castellan, MD
Associate Director, Pediatric Urology Program
Esperanza Pacheco-Jacome, MD
Director, Pediatric Radiology Program
Melquiades Alvarez, MD
Associate Director, Pediatric Radiology Program
Sanjiv Bhatia, MD
Director, Pediatric Neurosurgery Program
S. Anthony Wolfe, MD
Director, Craniofacial Plastic Surgery Program
Chad Perlyn, MD
Associate Director, Craniofacial Plastic Surgery Program
Cathy Burnweit, MD
Director, Pediatric Surgery Program
Rose M. Alvarez-Salvat, PhD
Director, Psychology Internship Program
Melissa Clemente, MD
Director, Academic Pediatric Hospitalist Program
Rosie Roldan, MD, DMD
Director, Pediatric Dentistry Residency Program
Melissa Clemente, MD
Attending, Div of Hospitalist Services and/or Designee
Jefry Biehler, MD, MPH
Director, Med Students, FIU Ped Dept Chair
Jose Rosa-Olivares, MD
Attending, Continuity Clinic General Pediatrics and/or Designee
Athena Pefkarou, MD
Attending, Div of Ped Hem/Onc
Mislen Bauer, MD
Attending, Chief Div of Genetics (Admin)
Marisa Azaret, PsyD
Psychologist, Chief Div. of Psychology
Naiomi Cohen, MD
Chief Resident, PGY4
Kavita Desai, MD
Chief Resident, PGY4
PGY1 Rep: Alejandro Martinez Herrada, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY1 Rep: Montserrat Corbera, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY1 Rep: Melissa Cardemas-Morales, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY2 Rep: Ireal Fusco, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY2 Rep: Trisha Kissoon, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY2 Rep: Annette Medina, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY3 Rep: Joshua Kurtz, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
PGY3 Rep: Brianna Ruiz, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
PGY3 Rep: Ronald Vasquez, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
Fellows Rep: Carolina Mendoza, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY4
Fellows Rep: Paul Khalil, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY6
Fellows Rep: Gavin Falk, MD
Pediatric Surgery Fellow - PGY7
Fellows Rep: Natasha Noel, MD
Pediatric Cardiology Fellow - PGY6
Fellows Rep: Alexander Ortega, MD
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Fellow - PGY5
Fellows Rep: Marina Bishai, DO
Pediatric Academic Hospitalist Fellow - PGY4
Dental Resident Rep: Zara Nensey, DMD
Pediatric Dentistry Resident
Cindy Gibson, C-TAGME
GME Manager
Sharon Larson, RN, LHRM
Administrative Director, Risk & Quality, Safety & Innovation
Deise Granado-Villar, MD, MPH
CMO, Sr. VP Med and Acad Affairs
Jacques Orces, DO
Chief Medical Information Officer
Amanda Bhikhari, Esq
Legal Counsel
Andre Susla, Esq
Legal Counsel
Jose Perdomo, Esq
VP, Ethics and Compliance
Jennifer McCafferty, PhD, CHRC, CHPC, CHC, CCEP
Director, Research Institute
Alina Gonzalez
Coordinator; Medical Education
Ana Otero
Fellowship Coordinator, Medical Education
Galia Huerta
Elva Siren
Catalina Dunoyer
Massiel Martinez
Mari Carmen Jardines
Lisa Howard
Kari Bollerman
Tamara Martinez

Roles and Responsibilities of the GMEC (Click to view)

To Top