Print Friendly and PDF

GME Committee (GMEC)

The Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) is responsible for the oversight of the GME programs. The Committee meets monthly.

  • Members: GMEC members are comprised of voting members (Training Program Directors, Teaching Faculty, GME Manager, Institutional Administrative Director of Risk & Quality, Safety & Inovation, & peer-selected Residents and Fellows Representatives), non-voting Administrators (Ex-Officio member (CAO), Legal Counsel, VP for Ethics and Compliance, and Research Institute Director) and non-voting guests (Program Coordinators).
  • Residents and Fellows Representatives: Include the chief residents, and GMEC Housestaff Reps are elected by their peers and have voting rights
    • All Voting members are required to attend 50% of the meetings annually
    • Each co-represenative pair occupy one slot (some with alternate)
    • Residents Class Reps (3 per class) occupy two seats per class for quorum purposes
    • Fellows' rep each occupy a seat
    • A quorum is achieved when there is 22 attendees of the voting members (50% of voting members' seats +1)
Co-Representative Co-Representative
Rani Gereige, MD, MPH
Chair; Director of Medical Education
Designated Institutional Official (DIO)
Beatriz Cunill, MD
Vice Chair; GMEC
Director, Pediatric Core Program
Beatriz Cunill, MD
Director, Pediatric Core Program
Maria Behnam-Terneus, DO
Associate Prog Director, Pediatric Core Program
Mark Gabay, DO
Assoc Pediatric Prog Director and Osteopathic Prog Director
Bala Totapally, MD
Director, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Program
Metee Comkornruecha, MD
Director, Adolescent Medicine Program
Jason Katz, MD
Director, Pediatric Cardiology Program
Vincenzo Maniaci, MD
Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Program
Michael Duchowny, MD
Director, Clinical Neurophysiology Program
Miguel Castellan, MD
Director, Pediatric Urology Program
Esperanza Pacheco-Jacome, MD
Director, Pediatric Radiology Program
Melquiades Alvarez, MD
Associate Director, Pediatric Radiology Program
Vivian Hernandez-Trujillo, MD
Director, Division of Allergy-Immunology
Director, Allergy-Immunology Program
S. Anthony Wolfe, MD
Director, Craniofacial Plastic Surgery Program
Chad Perlyn, MD
Associate Director, Craniofacial Plastic Surgery Program
Cathy Burnweit, MD
Director, Pediatric Surgery Program
Rose M. Alvarez-Salvat, PhD
Director, Psychology Internship Program
Melissa Clemente, MD
Director, Academic Pediatric Hospitalist Program
Rosie Roldan, MD, DMD
Director, Pediatric Dentistry Residency Program
Sanjiv Bhatia, MD
Director, Pediatric Neurosurgery Program
Juan Carlos Meneses Paz, MD
Attending, Div of Hospitalist Services and/or Designee
Jefry Biehler, MD, MPH
Director, Med Students, FIU Ped Dept Chair
Jose Rosa-Olivares, MD
Alt: Amanda Porro, MD

Attending, Continuity Clinic General Pediatrics and/or Designee
Athena Pefkarou, MD
Alt: Haneen Abdella, MD

Attending, Div of Ped Hem/Onc
Magaly Diaz-Barbosa, MD
Attending, Chief Division of Neonatology (Admin)
Jose Vargas Loayza, MD
Attending, Pediatric Emergency Medicine
Mislen Bauer, MD
Attending, Div of Genetics 
Marisa Azaret, PsyD
Psychologist, Chief Div. of Psychology
Alisa Muniz-Crim, MD
Attending, Pediatric Gastroenterology
Scott Raskin, DO
Chief Resident, PGY4
Krysten Chin, MD
Chief Resident, PGY4
PGY1 Rep: Gisell Rodriguez, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY1 Rep: Sneha Kolli, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY1 Rep: TJ Verhage, DO
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY2 Rep: Alejandro Martinez Herrada, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY2 Rep: Melissa Cardenas-Morales, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY2 Rep: Raphael Sturm, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY3 Rep: Ireal Fusco, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
PGY3 Rep: Trisha Kissoon, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
PGY3 Rep: Annette Medina, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
Fellows Rep: Carolina Mendoza, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY5
Fellows Rep: Naiomi Cohen, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY5
Fellows Rep: Loretta Duggan, MD
Adolescent Medicine Fellow - PGY5
Fellows Rep: Daniel Duarte, MD
Pediatric Cardiology Fellow - PGY5
Fellows Rep: Alexander Ortega, MD
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Fellow - PGY6
Fellows Rep: Keyur Mehta, MD
Pediatric Cardiology Fellow - PGY4
Dental Resident Rep: Patrick Lolo, DMD
Pediatric Dentistry Resident
Cindy Gibson, C-TAGME
GME Manager
Sharon Larson, RN, LHRM
Administrative Director, Risk & Quality, Safety & Innovation
Deise Granado-Villar, MD, MPH
Chief Academic Officer, Sr. VP
Jacques Orces, DO
Chief Medical Information Officer
Amanda Bhikhari, Esq
Legal Counsel
Andre Susla, Esq
Legal Counsel
Jose Perdomo, Esq
VP, Ethics and Compliance
Jennifer McCafferty, PhD, CHRC, CHPC, CHC, CCEP
Director, Research Institute
Alina Gonzalez, C-TAGME
Coordinator; Medical Education
Ana Otero, C-TAGME
Fellowship Coordinator, Medical Education
Brandy Bluett
Coordinator, Medical Education
Yuli Simon
Coordinator, Medical Education
Catalina Dunoyer
Galia Huerta
Lisa Howard
Elva Sirven
Kari Bollerman
Tamara Martinez

Roles and Responsibilities of the GMEC (Click to view)

To Top