Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship

Welcome to the Clinical Neurophysiology Residency Program at Nicklaus Children's Hospital. We are committed to providing high quality, evidence-based, innovative training in state-of-the-art diagnostic neurophysiological techniques.  Our dedicated faculty has remained together providing clinical care and mentoring fellows for over twenty five years.  Following graduation, many of our trainees have assumed leadership positions throughout the world.


The Nicklaus Children's Hospital - Cleveland Clinic Florida Clinical Neurophysiology Residency Program provides broad comprehensive training in clinical neurophysiology with an emphasis on pediatric EEG and epilepsy.  The residency is ACGME-approved and our trainees are board-eligible in Clinical Neurophysiology Epilepsy at the end of the fellowship year. Our trainees develop competence in all aspects of clinical neurophysiology including electroencephalography, evoked potentials, EMG, NCV studies, polysomnography. We place special emphasis on the evaluation and surgical management of complex epilepsy patients. Didactic training and clinical correlation is provided through daily interactions with the medical staff.

The pediatric EEG program is especially busy- we admit over 60 in-patients for video-EEG monitoring per month, and interpret 15-20 EEGs daily. Approximately 50 epilepsy surgeries are performed annually. A two-year program that includes a second year of non-ACGME-approved training is also possible

Compensation is commensurate with ACGME-equivalent programs. Please consult the Nicklaus Children's Hospital website for more details regarding Nicklaus Children's Hospital and medical education.

How to Apply

Applications should be submitted along with the following documents:

  1. Recent Curriculum Vitae (must include months and years)
  2. Personal Statement
  3. Three (3) letters of recommendation (one written by the Director of your Residency Program or Chair of your Department)
  4. And other items as indicated in the application.


Your interview visit will be coordinated by Dr. Catalina Dunoyer when your schedule permits.

Contact Us

Our Faculty

Michael S. Duchowny, MD
Program Director Clinical Neurophysiology Residency, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Trevor Resnick, MD
Director, Headache Clinic, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Marcel J. Deray, MD
Director, Sleep Disorder Center, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Prasanna Jayakar, PhD
Director, Neuroscience Center
Chairman, Brain Institute, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
lsrael Alfonso, MD
Director of Neonatal Neurology, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Ian Miller, MD
Director of Informatics, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Ann Hyslop, MD
Pediatric Neurology & Epilepsy, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Sayed Naqvi, MD
Pediatric Neurology & Epilepsy, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Catalina Dunoyer
Residency Program Manager, Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Efrain Salgado, MD
Program Director Neurology Residency, Cleveland Clinic Florida
Virgilio D. Salanga, MD
Neurology Neurophysiologist, Cleveland Clinic Florida
Chetan Malpe, MD
Neurology, Cleveland Clinic Florida
Nestor Galvez-Jimenez, MD
Neurology Chairman, Cleveland Clinic Florida
Adriana Rodriguez, MD
Neurology, Cleveland Clinic Florida

Clinical Competency Committee (CCC)

In accordance with the ACGME requirements, each training program is expected to form a Clinical Competency Committee (CCC). The program director appoints the CCC. The CCC must have at least three program core faculty (excluding the program director) who have the opportunity to observe and evaluate the residents. The CCC meets at least semi-annually to review and discuss each individual residents’ performance data and make a consensus decision on the progress of each resident by applying assessment data to the milestones. The CCC serves as an early warning system/ early identification if a resident fails to progress in the educational program and make recommendations to the program director for resident progress including promotion, remediation, and dismissal. The program director meets with each resident semi-annually to review the CCC report and design an individualized learning plan for the resident. To learn more about the CCC, click here.

Below are the faculty members who serve on the CCC committee (in addition to the Program Director) for the Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Program:

  • Ian Miller, MD
  • Trevor Resnick, MD
  • Catalina Dunoyer
  • Prasana Jayakar, PhD