Meet the Staff

Emergency Department Staff

Armando Llechu, CPHM, ED Administrative Director
Diane Chafin, RN, BSN, MBA, Nursing Director
Michelle Mendoza, RN, BSN, MSN Clinical Specialist
Christina Serrano, RN, BSN, MSN Interim Clinical Specialist


Jean Latouche, RN, BSN
Jacqueline Behar, RN, BSN
ED Clinical Coordinators
Daniela Ricci, RN, BSN
Diana Gomez, RN, BSN
Chad Johns, RN
Rebecca Collier, RN
Tania Martinez, RN, BSN
Lismarie Morales, RN, BSN
Donald Torres, RN
Kessoon Dillon, RN
Olivia Hung, RN

Emergency Department Physicians

Dr. Muna Azzo
Dr. Rodney Baker, Divisional Director
Dr. Jefry Biehler, Child Advocacy 
Dr. Michelle Blumstein
Dr. William Coombs
Dr. Antonella Denaro
Dr. John Dunlop
Dr. Karen Franco
Dr. Marla Friedman
Dr. Daniel Green
Dr. David Lowe
Dr. Marc Linares
Dr. Vincenzo Maniaci, PEM Fellowship Director
Dr. Ana Páez
Dr. Barbara Peña, Research Director
Dr. Richard Raffaele
Dr. Oranit Shaked
Dr. Laura Umbrello
Dr. Nestor Valeron, Trauma Assistant Director
Dr. Leopoldo Malvezzi, Trauma Director (Department of Surgery)

Rapid Care Center Physicians

Dr. Tamara Biller
Dr. Ana Maria Castaneda
Dr. Carlos Colon
Dr. Maria de Soto
Dr. Mark Gabay
Dr. Benazeer Jawaid
Dr. Julie Kantor
Dr. Alberto Lopez
Dr. Raquel Martinez
Dr. Sobia Naeem
Dr. Julia Oliveira
Dr. Sylvia Perez-Pascual
Dr. Asim Warsi

Rapid Care Center South Dade Physicians

Dr. Jose Luis
Dr. Julia Olivera
Dr. Maria Ramon Colon
Dr. Jose Rosa-Olivares


Nicklaus Children's Hospital, formerly Miami Children's Hospital, understands the critical role that ED nurses have in the handling of emergencies. All nursing staff must be certified in ACLS (Advance Cardiac Life Support), BLS (Basic Life Support), PALS (Pediatric Advance Life Support), CPI (Crisis Prevention Intervention) and attend the Pediatric Trauma Course. In addition, although not required but highly recommended, most of the RN staff are certified in ENPC (Emergency Nursing Pediatric Course),and TNCC (Trauma Nursing Core Curriculum). Several of the staff are certified to teach PALS, ACLS, ENPC and TNCC.

To Top